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REVISED:

PURPOSE: To verify and document that employees maintain current licenses/certifications
where required by State statute, or regulation, and as designated by other accreditation body(s).

SCOPE: All WFH candidates and staff requiring licensure or certification

PROCEDURE:

Prior to a candidate being appointed to any of the classifications requiring licensure or
certification, their current license/certification is verified by the Facility Human Resources
Department as a condition of employment.

All licensed/certified staff members are responsible for maintaining a current license/certification
as required by their state job specifications and in the state and federal licensure code to continue
employment.

The Facility Human Resources Department retains the employer’s copy of current
licenses/certifications in the employee's personnel file. It is the employee’s responsibility to
provide the Human Resources Department with the Employer’s Copy of the current
license/certification on or before the renewal date.

The Facility Human Resources Department conducts monthly primary source verification. This
verification takes place within the first five (5) business days of each month. If it is determined
that a license/certification has not been renewed prior to the listed expiration date on the license/
certification, the Facility Human Resources Department notifies the Discipline/Department




Director of the pending expiration and provides the allowable observed grace period for the
license/certification.

NOTE: Individuals who hold a practitioner license issued by the Department of Public Health,
have the benefit of a 90 day grace period, beginning on the first day following the renewal due
date. During this time, the license remains active and the licensee may continue to practice,
pending renewal. Any license not renewed by the end of the 90 day grace period will become
void.

Employees who fail to submit renewed licenses/certifications by the expiration date and
allowable grace period are immediately removed from providing any direct care that requires the
said license/certification and referred to DMHAS Labor Relations via the MHAS-20 process for
investigation.

Employees with suspended or lapsed licenses/certifications may be subject to termination from
State service.

The Facility Human Resources Department does primary source verification of
licenses/certifications with the departments and/or the regulatory agencies authorized to issue
them (e.g., Department of Public Health (DPH), Connecticut Certification Board (CCP), or
Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP).

The Facility Human Resources Department ensures that the new renewal date is entered into

CORE-CT and the Employer’s Copy of the license/certification is placed employee's personnel
file.

Physicians are also required to maintain a current license and submit a copy of the license to the
Medical Staff Office.
License/Certification Fee Reimbursement:

The Facility Human Resources Department processes applications for license/certification
reimbursement in accordance with collective bargaining agreements. The following documents
are submitted to the Facility Human Resources Department:

a. Completed Request for License Fee Reimbursement Form (WFH-529);



b. Employee CO-17XP-PR Payroll Reimbursements for Expenses Incurred in the Service of the

State of Connecticut;
c. Employer’s copy of the new license; and

d. Proof of payment.

Upon the receipt of the above documents the Facility Human Resources Department completes the CO-
17XP-PR and submits the application for reimbursement to Fiscal Services.



